Double to single passenger seat and leg room

reeboka

Hi all. New here! On the cusp of getting a T6 but the double front seats are a huge issue with them not being able to be slid backwards. My partner is 6 ft 5 so his knees are on the dash. If we changed to a single seat, would the seat be able to slide backwards to give more leg room?

Hi - welcome to the forum.

I've no experience of the double passenger seat, but the singles certainly slide back and forth, as per a standard car seat. The only exception would be a panel van with a bulkhead immediately behind the front seats, as this would constrain rearward movement. I presume, though, it's a camper or a day-van that you're after, so no bulkhead to worry about.

Hi - welcome to the forum.

I've no experience of the double passenger seat, but the singles certainly slide back and forth, as per a standard car seat. The only exception would be a panel van with a bulkhead immediately behind the front seats, as this would constrain rearward movement. I presume, though, it's a camper or a day-van that you're after, so no bulkhead to worry about.
Thank you so much for replying. Yes it is a camper conversion we're looking to do so the bulkhead would be coming out. We just need the seat to basically go as far back as possible - definitely further back than the fixed double seats are situated.

Reactions: Bav
I would advise sourcing a base van with twin captain seats already installed, rather than looking to swap out a double for a single. The swap is eminently doable, but single front passenger seats are extremely sought after, so a used one commands a premium price (~£1k compared with a couple of hundred for a double) and they're not easy to find.

If you can visit a van centre or hire centre and try and sit in a van with twin singles and see what you think. VW Van Centres will likely still have some California's in that will be twin singles.