Tyres (again), rear suspension upgrades (again) and pulling to the left (again)

rfc59

Hi All

I dont post often, but I look at the forum all the time and find it really useful. I've had my T6 camper for 5 years now and wanted to make some observations and ask a few question on a topic that come up again and again.

My VW is stock and I'm a fairly gentle driver, although most milage is at the speed limit on the motorway. I've been really pleased with my T6, but, on the downside, found the ride jarring and the tyres lacking grip - they also developded a really loud droning noise after about 25, 000 miles, like a wheelbearing noise. Also, having read about it on here, I began to worry that my steering was pulling to the left. In addition to those two things, the rear has always "sagged", not improved by five years of use.

Firstly tyres - I covered 40,000 miles on the original Continental 206/65 R 16 tyres before changing them, after much searching and agonising, to Michelin CrossClimate 215/65 R 16, which has made a huge improvement. I don't know if it's mainly the tyre type or mainly the size change (which run at lower pressures), but it's a huge difference. Grip and ride comfort are both much improved. There is a slight whirring noise from the tread at low speed, but overall the noise level is lower than the Continentals. Surprisingly, the mpg is slightly up.