Tow bar bike rack for the wider handle bar MB

Markyh

Hi ,
I’m new to VW campers , I pick up my T6.1 next week from Platinum Wave Campers .
There installing a removable tow bar so I’m after a bike rack that will tilt enough to clear the tailgate when bikes are on rack .
The problem in the past with my old motorhome 2 bike rack is the handlebar on nearest to vehicle touched back screen and cracked it .

Now I only have two mountain bikes so a 2 bike rack is enough but do they give enough clearance to the tailgate window when a mountain bike is seated .
There is an option of getting a 3 bike and not using the inner most position but if a 2 bike rack is fine I’d rather pick that lighter cheaper option .

Thanks

I found the inner bike always touched the back of the van, even when it was a kids MTB. I had an old glove specifically to go on the end of the bar (cheap tilting four-bike rack from Halfords). On the new van, we have a tailgate mounted rack, so the bars go over the roof.

If you are twisting the bars regularly it’s worth keeping an eye on the headset as it will gradually work loose. Also, don’t overtighten the stem bolts or you risk stripping the threads and that will always happen just when you are wanting to start the ride! A pre-set 5nm t-handle torque wrench is great for this (and other bike maintenance tasks).

What’s the deal with bike racks that clear the tailgate? It’s like I’m asking for a flying motorcycle —finding a straight answer is impossible! Honestly, it’s baffling that this is even a question. You’d think all tilting bike racks would naturally avoid smacking into the tailgate, but nope, apparently that’s just too much to ask.