Tyre condition advice please

CamperCaz

T6 Pro
Hello Peeps, newbie here, what about the cuts in this tyre, could someone tell me how much it would cost for a new tyre, what sort do I need.....

....the cuts are on the side wall, not on the tread.....you can see my fingernail goes in about 2mm.....do I need a new tyre......

(the van had an MOT only 3 months ago and I have not used it much, why did it pass MOT) :confused:

IMG_9672.JPG

IMG_9658.JPG

Hi.
I would be more concerned with the perished and cracked section that runs circumferentially, just to the left of the cracks that you are highlighting. All of these point to an old tyre.
What is the date of manufacture on the tyres? They look quite old.
I would certainly replace.

Don't skimp on tyres. The only things that keep you pinned to the road with a bit of help from Newton and his confounded apples.
Get some Michelin Agilis CC2 - fantastic tyres.
However, you have to put the good ones on the back, again to stop that part of the van from flying off the road, so then you end up with not as good on the front.....
Which means...... 4 x new tyres = £650-700 depending on the size.

Whatever happens - make sure they are paired front and back, so don't just get 1 tyre.

How does one get cuts on a tyre like that?

Last edited:
Hi.
I would be more concerned with the perished and cracked section that runs circumferentially, just to the left of the cracks that you are highlighting. All of these point to an old tyre.
What is the date of manufacture on the tyres? They look quite old.
I would certainly replace.

Yes, I noticed that as well Bear, I paid a lot for this van and I am a little disappointed in the state of the tyres

Who did the MOT? If it was done for the seller, then it suggests the MOT company did not do much of a job...
Bridgewater Campers of Sale sold the van to me, it had been MOT's prior to that, ready for handover, I only noticed it by chance :confused: