Insulation, necessary would you say?

seaweed1992

Hi all,
Newbie here, so be gentle with me…..
We have been looking to purchase a campervan for a while now, after much research we took a long drive to a dealers at the weekend.
The vans were brand new, very well priced, and ticked all the boxes for what we wanted.
Anyway….. decided to ring them today with a few questions I forgot to ask at the weekend, one of which was are the vehicles insulated/ sound deadened?
He told me they weren’t, and Volkswagen recommend you don’t insulate them, the cavity is there for a reason.
Explained the vehicle came with a diesel heater which would be more than adequate etc.
I am still concerned however with the hot summer weather.
There have probably been countless thread in the past, but what are your thoughts on this? Is it absolutely necessary etc?
Cheers.

Hi all,
Newbie here, so be gentle with me…..
We have been looking to purchase a campervan for a while now, after much research we took a long drive to a dealers at the weekend.
The vans were brand new, very well priced, and ticked all the boxes for what we wanted.
Anyway….. decided to ring them today with a few questions I forgot to ask at the weekend, one of which was are the vehicles insulated/ sound deadened?
He told me they weren’t, and Volkswagen recommend you don’t insulate them, the cavity is there for a reason.
Explained the vehicle came with a diesel heater which would be more than adequate etc.
I am still concerned however with the hot summer weather.
There have probably been countless thread in the past, but what are your thoughts on this? Is it absolutely necessary etc?
Cheers.
Camperking?

• Haha
Reactions: Bav
Not insulated for a reason? That's a new one. A properly sound deadened and insulated van is a much more pleasant place to be whether in motion or not, summer and winter. Anyone who advises against insulation, is well worth staying away from.