Breasts

True Romance

204 TDi DSG LWB
VIP Member
T6 Legend
So we have a case study at work around the word "Breasts" and if it can be classed as sexual harassment.

The example is that a lady is removing a large box from a heigh shelf when it slips and hits her in the top half of her body causing discomfort. A male Manager asks if she may have bruised her breasts.

In this example could the managers comments be classed as sexual harassment? One for our female members and if the males would be so kind to ask their lady partners it would be much appreciated.

Thank you.

Me Too…….oh to be a victim. Pretty soon we won’t even be able to acknowledge that the genders have different anatomy.

As a manager, I have dealt with a number of grievance cases, and awkward individuals, although never dealt with a sexual harassment claim. I am also a husband, and a father of a grown daughter. I also work with largely female teams now.

If it was one of my staff that made the comment, then I would be wondering why they referenced that part of the body. Why not just say “did you bruise yourself” ?

In some mixed teams a level of banter exists, and the comment might be acceptable. In others, it would be completely unacceptable. Context is everything in these cases.

I think it could be construed as sexist.

Pete

The Manager is sailing very close to the wind - unless he can demonstrate relevant medical experience that he has been approved to use in the workplace! He definitely needs words of guidance! He has to explain why he asked about specific areas of the body.

“Are you hurt? Are you bruised? Where?” are the questions to ask and the responses noted in the accident book/report. Open questions all the way.

Even the simple question “Have you hurt yourself?” could be perceived as biased as there is an inference that the company is assuming the employee caused their own injury!

It is a minefield!