Upgrade Leisure Battery to Lithium with EC155

Sprout

Dougie
VIP Member
Hi

Newish to the forum (read loads) and had the van for a year or so now…

Current leisure battery very smelly (rotten eggs) and not holding charge (drops to 11.4v within an hour of being charged) so assume it is knackered. Am planning to add solar in due course so thought I might as well upgrade the DC to DC charger to one that can cope with solar and Lithium as want to avoid hooking up unless absolutely necessary. Current configuration is as per picture with a Sargent EC155 psi.

2E5843C8-A9DF-4C29-82D8-D1A67F35AB74.jpeg

I’m no electrical expert and having read a lot of the helpful content I think I need to remove the charger fuse on the EC155 but I can’t turn off the breaker as it covers the fridge as well. So if I needed to charge the Lithium battery whilst hooked up I assume I can plug a charger directly in to one of the van’s plug sockets.

Was looking at Renogy DCC30S and a Pro LiFePO4 100ah battery - assume these two are compatible. I only have a fridge to run.

Any guidance appreciated…

Have a look at this thread which covers a very similar upgrade

Your Sterling charger looks like it's a LiFePo capable one - can you get a clearer image of the top left?

Ideally yes you should disable the "charger" in the ECC155 as it's not ideal for a lithium profile and fit something like a Victron charger.

Remember with LiFePo you must have a low temperature cut off in all chargers or built into the battery - with prices dropping I wouldn't advise buying a battery without that built in.

Thanks - hopefully the below is clearer. If it is ok then I can just add a mppt when I get round to solar.

I take it just removing the fuse is not sufficient to disable the charger. Dumb question - do I need to wire the lithium charger in?

Thanks for advice on battery as I’m up in Aberdeen so temperatures do drop.
CFE2FBBC-682F-4D33-B56A-B77A89B7AB2C.jpeg